South Africa: Zuma’s Deputy Challenges His Party Leadership

Bloemfontein — President Jacob Zuma and his deputy Kgalema Motlanthe have been nominated for the position of party president, the ANC’s electoral commission announced in Mangaung on Monday.

Mathews Phosa, Cyril Ramaphosa and Tokyo Sexwale were nominated for the deputy president position. Party chairwoman Baleka Mbete and deputy president Kgalema Motlanthe declined nominations for this position.

The other nominees are:

Chairman: Baleka Mbete, Thandi Modise;

Secretary-general: Gwede Mantashe, Fikile Mbalula;

Deputy secretary-general: Jessie Duarte. No voting for this position.

Treasurer-general: Paul Mashatile, Zweli Mkhize. Tokyo Sexwale and Lindiwe Sisulu declined their nominations for this position.

If one person was contesting several positions, separate ballot papers would be prepared. Delegates would cast their ballots in secret.

Former Rivonia trialist and ANC stalwart Andrew Mlangeni said voting for the top six and national executive members would be separate.

Delegates were not allowed to bring cellphones into voting booths.

Votes would be counted by hand.